One small reason why iCloud can’t fully replace Dropbox for me.

I love Dropbox and I love iCloud. Recently iCloud made a random change that Apple usually doesn’t do. They became the cheaper option.

Right now I pay $9.99 a month for 1TB on Dropbox. It’s been great. No problems. It works just like I want it to. Apple just one upped them. They now have 2TB for $9.99 a month. Double the storage for the same price and you can even share that storage with family members. That’s excellent. Apple rarely makes themselves the cheaper option, especially with cloud storage.

But I have one small dilemma. I can’t share files easily with other people. Right now, in Dropbox, I have tons of photos I use for work. If someone wants a photo or a folder of my photos I just send them the share link and they download the files they want.

You can’t easily do that with iCloud. Some say you can copy the link in the safari browser and email that to people, but it doesn’t quite work right. And sure, you could mail drop a file to someone, but that’s not the best way for me to do it.

I’m sure this is something that Apple could easily implement and they are probably working on it as we speak. But right now, without any way to easily share a file with someone, I can’t get rid of Dropbox.

Leave a Reply

