May 8 – ESV Devotional Psalter & New City Catechism Devotional

ESV Devotional Psalter

Like I’ve stated before, I’m a sucker for good typography and a beautiful cover. I literally will judge a book by it’s cover. Crossway recently released an ESV Devotional Psalter that looked awesome. Well, I went ahead and got one. It never hurts having a devotional based on Psalms.

I got the tru-tone walnut portfolio, whatever that means, and it looks great. Here’s what the cover looks like:

 

It looks like a lot of the Crossway ESV Bibles, but a little smaller. The one thing that I really like about it is the pages. The paper isn’t as thin as a normal Bible, it’s more akin to a normal book. You can see it in the picture here:

 

I really like it so far. I don’t have many strictly devotionals. I usually just read from the Bible, but I wanted to have a little bit more direction. I just finished reading Philippians so I’m excited about going through this. You can never read the Psalms too many times.

The New City Catechism Devotional

When I was younger I memorized catechism for my private school. I’m pretty sure it was the Shorter Catechism. Catechism is a series of questions and answers that help you understand, learn and have a greater understanding of your faith. It’s an older tradition for sure. We’ve largely lost this tradition, but I really like it. New City Catechism builds on  the old catechisms and does a slight update. It was made to be 52 questions to match 52 weeks in a year. Here’s how Crossway describes the devotional:

Each question features a relevant Scripture reading, a short prayer, and a devotional commentary written by contemporary pastors (including John Piper, Timothy Keller, and Kevin DeYoung) and historical figures (such as Augustine, John Calvin, Martin Luther, and many others). Designed for use in a variety of contexts, The New City Catechism Devotional is a valuable resource for helping believers learn and meditate on the doctrines that stand at the heart of the Christian faith.

They have the book with the questions and answers for $8 and the devotional for about $20. They also have an incredible app that has the questions and answers on it. It’s a really well designed app.

I haven’t started this yet. I’m not sure how I’m going to go through this. Not sure if I’m going to do 1 devotion a week in it or just start going through it every day. I would love to memorize the New City Catechism though. It’s a great foundation to have.

Like all Crossway books it’s a beautiful book. Take a look:

 

-Woody

3 thoughts on “May 8 – ESV Devotional Psalter & New City Catechism Devotional

  1. I’m not sold on the New City book – I think faith isn’t about having all the predetermined right answers, but a personal relationship and a set of personal answers that speaks to your own faith journey. The destination may be all the same, but I believe the journey matters and that God’s not going to walk along us all in the exact same way as if believers can be mass produced or a cookie-cutter sort of people.
    And I don’t like it when people split up Bible verses and leave others out for you and take them out of context. When Paul wrote the text, it didn’t include chapter and verse – it was one long letter. If we can’t read it the way Paul intended it then we’re missing out on how Romans, for example, is like the cars of a train, separate it from the engine and it quickly looses momentum and meaning. It all builds up on previous points and adds to later points in a complex interconnected way.

    1. The New City Catechism isn’t supposed to replace your personal journey. It’s supposed to give you a good foundation to build off of. Many Christians don’t even know basic things about their faith, this solves that.

      As far as splitting up verses. Jesus often quoted specific Bible verses. People are going to quote chapters, that would be crazy. It’s totally fine to quote verses. It’s up to you to believe what they are saying and to determine if it’s out of context. But these people that wrote the New City Catechism devotions are pretty smart people. We’re talking years of seminary and decades of studying God’s word. I don’t think anything was taken out of context.

      Thanks for the comment and reading the post!

      1. But neither you nor I is Jesus and is capable of reinterpreting the verses correctly in the essence of our godhood nature and omniscience – so best leave it up to the big guy and stick with reading what’s written in context.

Leave a Reply

