Uncategorized

Fixed Lens vs Interchangeable Lens & Freedom In Restrictions, Star Wars Night

Fixed Lens vs Interchangeable Lens

I’ve been trying to make this decision for a while. I’m saving up for an every day carry camera. You know. That one camera that will never leave my side. Sort of like my iPhone, but a full camera. My iPhone is always with me, but there are certain limitations with a super small sensor.

Too many choices can be a bad thing. I worry too much about choices.

So I’m trying to make the decision between a fixed lens every day camera or an interchangeable lens every day carry. I’m leaning towards fixed lens. I feel like having an ILC (interchangeable lens) camera would make me want to get more lenses and I wouldn’t be focusing on just taking photos, but rather I should buy a new lens or not. I wouldn’t be completely content with what I have. That brings me to a second point…

Freedom In Restrictions

I often find that I can have more freedom when there are more restrictions. I know that sounds weird, but it’s true. I like having rules. I used to work in retail, Aplle Retail, and there were tons of rules that we had to follow. I didn’t realize how much I liked the rules until I started working at a more corporate style salaried job with very few rules. It seemingly has more freedom here. I make my own schedule, I work where I want, I make my own rules. Turns out that it’s really hard to create your own rules and follow them, lol. Having all the rules of Apple, more restrictions, allowed me to just worry about work and working with the customers. I actually had less to worry about. One style isn’t better, they’re different.

It’s the same with cameras to me. Having a camera with more restrictions, fixed lens, would allow me to stop worrying about lenses and bodies and focus more on taking pictures. That’s why I’m leaning towards a fixed lens. Imposing restrictions will give me greater freedom because I can stop worrying.

The X100 is one of the most beautiful cameras around.

I’m mainly leaning towards the LX100 or X100S. The RX100 is still an option because it’s so insanely portable, but I would rather have a sensor larger than 1″.

Star Wars Night

Not much to say here except that Jenn and I are going to a Braves game this Saturday at the new Suntrust Park and it will be Star Wars night. I’ll definitely be bringing my A6000 and will be taking some good pictures. I will post them here when I’m done.

Standard

Leave a Reply

