Uncategorized

Baby ducks, The iPhone As An Image Editor, Shooting In JPEG

Baby Ducks

There’s something pretty fun about seeing baby ducks. I don’t know why, but it seems like something from a book for kids, lol. We have some ducks that were born at work in our lake. It’s great walking in to work and seeing them. I mean could there be anything cuter than a baby duck?


That’s all I really have to say about that. I love ducks.

The iPhone As An Image Editor

The iPhone is becoming a very capable image editor. It can process RAW photos and in many ways is comparable to some, not all, desktop solutions. Snapseed, Lightroom Mobile, RNI Films, Max Curves, and Polarr are all extremely good editors that are getting better.

Tonight I took a few pictures of Jenn holding Finn and used Snapseed to edit them. Because Jenn was sitting by a light, I used the camera app to lock the exposure and focus and then lowered the exposure so the light wasn’t as harsh. You can recover shadows, you can’t recover blown highlights. I then took the photos in to Snapseed and was able to create a much better image. Here are the before and after.



It went from a dark image to a more dynamic image. This is also the type of image that would best to not use a filter with. Some images that are well lit are much better to use a filter on, but with a photo on the iPhone that didn’t have much light, adding a filter can often show more noise.

If you shoot JPEGS on your camera or only need light editing, I would definitely use the iPhone. If you are doing a lot of editing of RAW images, than you might be able to use the iPhone, but it won’t be quite as good as desktop software. But it depends. I could probably be ok using Snapseed, Lightroom Mobile, or Polarr, but it would take some adjusting. Which leads me to my next topic.

Shooting In JPEG

I’m going to start shooting mostly in JPEG. I’m doing this because I love editing on my iPhone and I’m going to start editing some more on my iPhone. Unless I know I’m going to be shooting in low light situations, than I’ll be shooting in JPEG only. For work I think I’ll shoot RAW+JPEG, but for personal I’ll mainly be shooting JPEG. Sony has great JPEGS, but from what I’ve heard Fuji has the best JPEGS which isn’t hard to believe considering what I’ve seen. I’ll let you know how it goes.
-Woody

Standard

Leave a Reply

